Our commissioners bring a broad scope of experience in public education, business, and governance and share a desire to encourage innovation and quality school choice for Idaho families.

Created by the legislature in 2004, the IPCSC is comprised of seven commissioners. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor (3 members), Senate Pro Tempore (2 members) or Speaker of the House (2 members). They serve four-year terms, and officers are elected every two years in the spring. The IPCSC is staffed by the Office of the State Board of Education. As Idaho’s largest authorizer of public charter schools, the IPCSC endeavors to implement best practices for the evaluation of new charter petitions, oversight of operating schools, and consideration of charter renewals.

    Paul Amador

    Term Expires: 05/12/2024


    Sherrilynn Bair


    Term Expires: 05/14/2024

    Residence: Firth

    Sherrilynn Bair graduated from Idaho State University and received her Masters Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Phoenix. Commissioner Bair’s involvement with education includes working as a literacy specialist, online teacher, community library director, and curriculum director. Commissioner Bair and her husband, Mark Bair, are lifelong residents of Idaho. They have five children and seventeen grandchildren.

    Commissioner Bair is committed to making sure all Idaho children have educational opportunities that meet their individual and family needs.

    Dean Fisher

    Term Expires: 05/12/2023

    Residence: Twin Falls

    Dr. Fisher comes to the commission with a vast background in education, governance, and public policy. Prior to stepping into his current Presidency in 2020, Dr. Fisher served as the Provost for SUNY Corning Community College and as Chief of Staff and Senior Policy Advisor for a Member of Congress where he provided oversight for the Congressman’s Oklahoma district operations and Washington, DC staff. Prior to his Congressional service, he served in a variety of administrative roles for thirty years at Rose State College, a community college in Oklahoma City. His last role at Rose State College was Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.

    In addition to his work in administration and public policy, he has regularly taught undergraduate and graduate courses in history, humanities, leadership and student development.

    Wally Hedrick

    Term Expires: 05/12/2027

    Residence: Eagle

    Wally Hedrick is a fourth generation Idahoan, born and raised in Twin Falls, and currently resides in Eagle.  He attended the University of Idaho, University of Nevada – Reno and University of Northern Colorado to obtain a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture and a Master’s in Marketing and Management. Commissioner Hedrick Served in the U.S. Army and Army Reserve for six years in chemical, biological and nuclear warfare.  In addition, his career has spanned the private sector in natural resource management, cattle company owner, first State Director of the Idaho Lottery, former Idaho State Director of USDA Rural Development and General Management of High Desert Supply.  Commissioner Hedrick served for 1985 to 2000 on the West Ada School District Board with 12 of those years as Chairman.  He is currently serving as Board Chair of Meridian Technical Charter High School since 1999.  MTCHS was one of the first charter schools in Idaho.  Commissioner Hedrick as served as the Past President of the Idaho School Boards Association and Vice President of National Vandal Booster Board. 

    Pete Koehler

    Term Expires: 05/12/2027

    Residence: Caldwell

    Born and raised in Parma, Idaho. Education: BA from University of Idaho in History 1975. MA  in History from BSU in 1986. Administrator certification from NNU 2003. Air Command and Staff College. Armed Forces Staff College. United states Regular Army from 1975 -1996. Armor Officer – Retired as a Lieutenant Colonel. Public Education: Classroom teacher; Elementary Principal; High School Principal; Area Director; Superintendent Senior Deputy Superintendent/Chief of Staff Idaho State Department of Education Organizations: Trout Unlimited; Henry’s Fork Foundation; Idaho Community Foundation; Veterans of Foreign Wars.

    Wanda Quinn

    Renewal Chair

    Term Expires: 05/14/2024

    Residence: Coeur D'Alene

    Wanda Quinn received her Bachelor of Science from the University of Washington; her Master in Education from University of Idaho; and her Juris Doctorate from Gonzaga Law School. Commissioner Quinn’s involvement with K-12 education includes twelve years on the Coeur d’Alene School District Board of Trustees. She is a past president of the Idaho School Boards Association and co-founder of the EXCEL Foundation. She has served on the boards of the Coeur d’Alene Chamber of Commerce and Coeur d’Alene Rotary Club. She currently serves as Program Development Specialist for the University of Idaho in Coeur d’Alene.

    Alan Reed


    Term Expires: 05/12/2026

    Residence: Idaho Falls

    PCSC Chairman Alan Reed served on the Idaho Falls District 91 School Board from 1994 through 2003. For seven of those years, he served as chairman. He attended Ricks College and University of Idaho at University Place in Idaho Falls.

    Chairman Reed is the president and co-owner of Reed’s Dairy in Idaho Falls, a milking, bottling and sales company that manufactures ice cream and cheese. Reed has shipped his specialty dairy products nationwide and to Japan. He was born and raised in Idaho Falls and married his high school sweetheart, Holly. They have four children and nine grandchildren.